Tags

, , , , , , ,

Booth Vending

Booth Vending


You’re a maker and makers have to make. Right? Some makers don’t get obsessive and can balance the things they make with everything else in their life. Other makers get more obsessive and find they have made more things than they can use or give as gifts, while the desire to make isn’t even slightly diminished. I fit into the obsessive category. If that’s you or a bit of extra money sounds good, you might consider becoming a vendor by selling what you make.

There are always risks to becoming a vendor. What if no-one likes my stuff? What if I don’t sell anything? What if I lose money? I’d say to you, look at what you make. Do you love it? Would you buy it? Do friends and family enjoy it? If the answer is yes, it just might be worth the risk. If the answer is no, I don’t know what to say other than it probably isn’t work the risk.

One way to sell is by going online, picking one of the sites that sell handcrafts and open a store. The upside is you don’t have to leave home, the financial risks are quite small, and you get to play on the computer if that’s your thing. The downside is you have lots of competition, the customer only has you pictures and description to decide if they want to buy, and you have to take and post pictures of everything you make. If this sounds good to you research it. I will be posting more about online selling.

Another option is vending in person with a booth at an event. The upside is, customers get to touch and see your product in person, you get the satisfaction of witnessing a sale, and it is a short term commitment. The downside is having to figure out how to display your product, having to have someone (you) there the entire time, picking the right event can be tricky, and it’s not continuous. I wil also be posting more about booth selling.

The final option is putting your product into a shop. Wholesaling is nice but hard to get into, besides you have to be committed to making a set amount of product. Consignment is easier. The upside is someone else is doing the selling, displaying, and marketing for you. The downside is that selling product is often slow, your inventory is tied up in the shop, and you will probably have to pay rent to have your thing displayed.

I have done all three and loved being a vendor. The most satisfying for me is to vend in person at a booth. I love the friends I make, the other vendors, and the look on people’s faces when they find something I made that they can’t live without. When I decided to become a vendor, I choose to do this for the long haul. I studied and researched how to make each sale or event better than the last. When I started I didn’t expect to become an overnight success, I expected to learn from my mistakes and get better. Think all this through and research on vending before you make any decisions.

