Tags

, , , , , ,

I once liked simple line, simple colors with nice neckline details

I once liked simple line, simple colors with nice neckline details

Every family seems to target each other about some quirk or another. Very few family members get a free pass. I won’t go into what I tease my siblings about, but I am targeted for a couple of the things. First, is my obsessions with making and doing new things and the second, is my clothing. It’s not because I dress particularly in any weird way, but because every few years I totally change my style of dress. In my defense, I don’t constantly rearrange or redecorate my house or get a new car every couple of years.

It use to be socks always had to match the outfit.

It use to be socks always had to match the outfit.

I’m in for it now, because I feel a new change coming on. I look in my closet and see very few things I want to wear. I just don’t like what I see. Everything seems plain and boring. Awhile back I loved simple lines, a single color, and nice neckline detail. Yuck!

If I studied and analyzed, I could probably tell you how each clothing phase reflected what was happening in my life, going from a hippie in the 70’s to a young mother, to a professional, to a mother of teenagers, to an empty-nester, to a grandma and so on. I’m just not totally convinced that my phase in life is really related to my phase in clothing. Looking back, I remember a time when by blouse had to exactly match my socks, or the time I wanted pleated shirts and blazers. There were the times when everything had to be super girly and ruffled or terribly blingy. I even went through an ethnic wear phase. Now how could that possible reflect a stage of life?

Today I am looking for brighter colors and bolder patterns

Today I am looking for brighter colors and bolder patterns

What am I attracted to these days? I want bright colors, bold prints, tie-dye, loose and flowing. It sounds a bit like the things I wore back in the 70’s minus the big ugly boots. Maybe, I’m ready to recycle back into my past because I have even pulled out some of ethnic wear that is bright and bold. I will tell you pleated skirts and blazers are still a no go for me. For the moment, I’ve come to a place in my life where people are just going to have to accept me even with all my weirdness, even my family.

